Here is an opportunity to say how your life with a disability, a family member’s or friend’s enriches you, and the society in which we live. How would the availability of euthanasia affect your life? Simply post it as a “comment” here.

About Daniel

I am a man with a disability living in Canberra, Australia. I'm passionate about the lives of people with disabilities - our joys, achievements, sorrows and setbacks. I want to encourage the people who support and love us, and stand firmly against obstacles placed in our way that may even threaten our very existence.
This entry was posted in Lives Worth Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. I am the mother of a little girl with Down syndrome.Her life is such a tremendous blessing to not only my family but the entire world, that I am publishing a book of 33 stories from parents like myself who want to tell the world how blessed we are.
    It’s callled “A Special Mother is Born” and you can keep order the book soon from this website:
    http://aspecialmotherisborn.blogspot.com/

    • Daniel says:

      Your book sounds like a terrific project, and if you or any of the other mothers want to write something here, please feel free to make a comment in the “Lives well Lived” section. What would it mean to you if euthanasia or assisted suicide laws were to be introduced?

  2. Evonne Zigouras says:

    Oh, Daniel, This ‘euthanasia law’ really gets the shackles on the back of my neck up! What is going on in our world? I thought the idea of a ‘perfect race’ died out with the Spartans throwing non-perfects over the cliff, or with Hitler. My 13yr old son has Autism, ADHD & a low IQ. He will probably never be a ‘contributing’ member of society. Should they kill him off along with others like him? I think NOT! We (& they) can learn compassion, patience, unconditional love & understanding among other things from him. This law MUST BE STOPPED.
    BTW, I have a bit of an idea how you felt growing up. I am supposedly normal, but wore coke-bottle glasses, was obese & had 2 large moles – 1 on & 1 under my nose. I was teased by nearly everyone, thank God I had a couple of very good freinds, but no boyfreind until I left school, got contact lenses, removed the moles & lost weight! People (even kids) can be very cruel – is it these same ones who are advocating euthanasia? I wonder!

  3. Loredana Bianco says:

    nullMy husband Mario has severe brain injury. He is 45 years old. Bringing him home from the hospital, 10 months after acquirung brain injury (through a procedure that should have been uncomplicated), was one of the most daunting experiences of my life. It was the same feeling I got after having our first child – nervous and excited, blessed with this little miracle yet nervous beyond words as to how we were going to cope with this change in our lives.

    Mario’s condition is more complicated even though every bit like having a third child at home. 4 years ago my husband was a competant, independant, charming, loving, individual. He took care of everything from our finances to fixing everything that needed mending and often even helped with the domestic duties. He was a passionate huband and father and would do anything for his kids. Now our two children and I do everything for him. We have been caring for Mario at home for the past 3 years. We have the help of family and the beautiful ladies from Homecare who are enamoured with Mario and our family. I have private nursing at night to look after him and tend to his round the clock needs as he is fed through a Naso-Gastric tube and needs water and medication through the night…and I need to sleep.

    I will never understand why I have lost my best friend and soul mate in the capacity that he was, yet be blessed by the affection and the support of so many wonderful friends. My life and my children’s life has been turned upside down. But we have, 3 years on settled into a routine and what I call a “different kind of normal”. The kids know daddy is sick and that for us to go out someone needs to be home with him. They jump into his bed, sing to him, cuddle him, help wash and comb his hair, wheel him outside, put a hat on him to shade him from the sun and are just glad to have him around. I know they wish it were different. Amazingly when he does go to hospital even for a day, they get anxoius and can’t wait to have him back home. Every night they pray most sincerely for him to get better…we live in hope that one day there will be a miracle. The reality however with the severity of the injury is that it is unlikely.

    “Put him in a nursing home”…was the professional opinion of neurologists, social workers and rehab doctors. “You’re young, the kids are young”…At which point of course I needed to grab for the box of tissues. “Move on with your life”….these people had no idea. Mario was not just a part of my life, Mario is my life. I needed to have my husband back home, to feel him and have him around, to be a part of his children’s life no matter what his state. What would I be teaching our children about love and life if I put their father in a nursing home? One of my greatest fears was that in doing that, one day my children would say “that place stinks, it’s dark and yucky, I don’t want to see daddy anymore”. My children have so much love for their father and worry about him when he coughs if I don’t tend to him fast enough with the suctioning equipment if he needs it. I hope that my children will grow up to be two of the most compassionate individuals who are not consumed so much by their own needs as those of others in need.

    Nursing Mario at home has been one of the most challenging experiences of my life. It is an honour and a privelege. Mario believed in the sanctity of life and fought very hard against the evils of euthanasia and Dr Nitschke in round one many years ago. He believed in palliative care that gave dignity and love to all no matter what their condition. Euthanasia and institutionalising people with disabilities makes us no better than a Hitler state, cold, dark and inhumane. In illness and adversity, in serving others we become better, stronger, more endearing, loving and compassionate people. We grow, and we help each other on this journey of life. I miss the way life was…but I am so greatful I still have my husband and my kids have their father.

  4. Daniel says:

    Here is post from Ronda, submitted on her behalf by Daniel:

    A sunny spring morning, 21st September, 1984, was the day of the accident that changed my life forever. I was driving south with a friend to meet up with other people in Northern New South Wales. After meeting at a local hotel we set off, never to make it to our destination – at least I didn’t.
    Now we speed forward to my next aware moment, 9th December, 1984, my 28th birthday, I was in hospital.
    Let me fill you in on a few details about myself up to this point in time. I was a convent school graduate who played piano and violin. I had completed a General Nursing Certificate, travelled and lived overseas. After returning home from London I worked and studied in the field of Psychiatric Nursing.
    During a period of unemployment due to changes in Psychiatric care statewide, I moved back home with my parents and two younger siblings. I enrolled in dress design but in actuality felt as if I was at a loose end. It was during this time that I accepted the invitation to visit friends in New South Wales.
    Back to the accident. I was a front seat passenger when our car rolled over three times. I received a serious head injury due to a severe blow to the left side of my head. The other passengers survived unhurt.
    I was admitted to a country hospital and put into a medically induced coma. I was transported via helicopter to Brisbane and remained for one month in intensive care, then another month in a semi-conscious state. I was then transferred to another hospital which had a specialized Rehabilitation Unit. On entry to the unit there was not a physical thing I could do that did not require assistance. I had to learn to speak, walk and write with my left hand and do all the accepted things one has to do to survive as independently as possible.
    I have many people to thank for where I am today: doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, speech and occupational therapists, my family, relatives, friends and many others.
    After eleven months, I was discharged from hospital to be cared for at home by my parents wherein I also attended weekly rehabilitation sessions.
    I regard my rehabilitation as an ongoing project and to this day, 27 years after the accident, I attend a weekly exercise class which includes physiotherapy.
    I still need a wheelchair when I go out as my balance is poor due to right side hemiplegia. I manage to do a little light gardening and enjoy cooking.
    After the accident I also learnt to play bridge and started attending a group once a week and it was at this group that I met my husband, now of 16 years, and we share the love of travelling in both Australia and overseas.
    Thank you for providing this opportunity to share my story with others.

  5. Andrea says:

    Proud of my courageous and kind sister Ronda. Thanks for the post! Andrea Calilhanna (Founder of Australians Against Euthanasia on Facebook).

Leave a Reply

